SCAET Board Members

Valarie D. Byrd, MA – SCAET Secretary
Senior Consultant-District Technology Services
Company: Office of Total Quality Management Director, Chief Information Office , South Carolina Department of Education
Board Member Since: 2010
About: Valarie has worked in education since 2007. She currently serves on several K12 education and technology focused boards and committees.

Brian Pratt – SCAET Chairman of the Board
 Chief Information Officer
Company: South Carolina Department of Education
Board Member Since: 2023

Salandra Bowman
Title: Interim Vice President of Education
Company: SCETV Education
Board Member Since: 2021

Victoria Gooch, CPM
Title: SC State E-Rate Coordinator
Company: Department of Administration, OTIS
Board Member Since: 2022

Michael M. Grant, PhD
Associate Professor, Learning Design & Technologies
Company: University of South Carolina
Board Member Since: 2015
About: Michael is an Associate Professor at the University of South Carolina in the Learning Design & Technologies program. He has been at UofSC since 2014, and he has been a SCAET board member for five years. Dr. Grant is an education scientist, teacher, keynote and workshop presenter, author, and consultant to K-12 schools and in higher education. He was trained as a career and technology education teacher at Clemson University, and he received his doctorate from The University of South Carolina in Instructional Technology. He is the Past President of the Association for Educational Communications & Technology. His most recent scholarship has focused on inquiry methods, such as project-based and problem-based learning, and mobile learning in K-12 and higher education within STEM disciplines. His wife Katie is an early childhood educator, and they often collaborate on technology integration and curriculum.

Carla Jefferson
Company: Darlington County Virtual Academy/Darlington County School District
Board Member Since: 2022
About: Carla Jefferson is the proud principal of the Darlington County Virtual Academy for the Darlington County School District.  A 26 year veteran educator, she's been a classroom teacher, curriculum facilitator, and district level administrator. Carla is an Apple Distinguished Educator, Google Certified Educator/Trainer/Innovator, PBS Lead Digital Innovator, a frequent ISTE presenter and a 2020 ISTE featured speaker.   Her work has been highlighted in several publications including ISTE Empowered Learner, Tech & Learning Magazine, and District Administrator. In addition to her serving on the SCAET board, Carla currently serves as the chairman of the SCASA Virtual School Roundtable and is a member of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Board and lives by the creed, "If not me, who? If not now, when?"

Jason Jones
Company: AT&T
Board Member Since: 2021

Tina Leitzsey
Director of Technology
Company: School District of Newberry County
Board Member Since: 2019
About: Tina has worked in education since 1997. She has served on several state technology committees. She was co-chair of the SC Association of School Administrators for 2019-2020 and currently serve as co-chair for 2020-2021.

Jay Lindler
Lexington School District 4
Board Member Since: 2019

Julie Putnam
Director for Web & Media Services  
Company: Kershaw County School District  
Board Member Since: 2011
About: Julie has worked in education since 1994.  In addition to serving on the SCAET Board, she serves on the S.C. Association of School Librarians (SCASL) Board as the chair of the Supervisors Section.

Jeff Salter
University of South Carolina
Board Member Since: 2015

Paula Yohe
Director of Technology and Information Systems
Company: Dillon School District Four
Board Member Since: 1984
About: Paula is one of the founding members of SCAET.